Astro Journal

The Chiron Archetype in the Horoscope

Last time we looked at how the experience of wounding can initiate you onto the path of individuation and wholeness. In this post, we’ll explore how that plays out in the horoscope through the Chiron archetype. Chiron is a civilised centaur who embodies both animal instincts and the wisdom of higher consciousness. He represents the… Continue reading The Chiron Archetype in the Horoscope


Active Hope and Expanding the Sense of Self

Last time we looked at the transformation of pain into healing and how it reminds us that we need each other. One of the problems with pain is that it can make you withdraw into yourself. But this just makes the pain worse because now you feel isolated too, and that messes with your head… Continue reading Active Hope and Expanding the Sense of Self


The Eightfold Path: Right Livelihood

Right Livelihood is the final practice in Ethical Conduct on the Eightfold Path and is about how you earn a living and take responsibility for your choices. The ideal is to earn a living without going against the principles of love and compassion, and to do work that expresses the truth of your deepest Self.… Continue reading The Eightfold Path: Right Livelihood


The Eightfold Path: Right Thought

Right Thought is the second Wisdom practice of the Eightfold Path, and is also known as Right Intention. It follows directly from Right Understanding because your thoughts and intentions arise from your perception of reality. If you see reality as it is, you’ll have no problems. But if you see reality through a haze of… Continue reading The Eightfold Path: Right Thought

Book Reviews

Review: Zen Mind, Beginner’s Mind by Shunryu Suzuki

This week I’m reading Zen Mind, Beginner’s Mind: a Zen classic from a brilliant master. The book is drawn from a series of talks given by Shunryu Suzuki on Zen Mind and how to practise. They’re divided into three sections that cover Right Practice, Right Attitude, and Right Understanding. The beginner’s mind of the title is… Continue reading Review: Zen Mind, Beginner’s Mind by Shunryu Suzuki

Buddhism · Meditation

How to Meditate: The Four Immeasurables

The Four Immeasurables are four virtues that are cultivated in meditation practice. They’re also called the Brahmavihara, which means the ‘abodes of Brahma,’ and they can be found in various Buddhist texts as well as the Yoga sutras of Patanjali. The four immeasurables are unconditional and so are boundless. They consist of: Loving-kindness, or metta… Continue reading How to Meditate: The Four Immeasurables

Buddhism · Meditation

How to Meditate: Tonglen

Tonglen is a Tibetan Buddhist practice of meditation. The word means ‘giving and taking’, or sending and receiving. The practice involves taking in the suffering and pain of others, and then breathing out love, compassion and understanding. It’s a powerful practice that uses visualisation to help you develop compassion and unconditional love for all. The… Continue reading How to Meditate: Tonglen

Buddhism · Spirituality

Spiritual Glossary: Buddha Nature

Buddha nature is your true nature. This may be hard to believe at times, but even a tiny glimpse of reality during awakening will reveal the truth of it. Enlightenment reveals the true nature of all beings as Buddha nature. It’s also called Buddha-dhātu, which means ‘Buddha Element’ or ‘Buddha Principle.’ This is the seed… Continue reading Spiritual Glossary: Buddha Nature