Spiritual Glossary

Spiritual Glossary: the Five Remembrances

The Buddha recommends reciting the Five Remembrances every day. Meditating on the inescapable facts of life and death is a powerful way to open up your meditation practice and deepens your understanding of change. It calms anxiety and restores perspective, and reminds us to think before we act.

If my actions reflect who I really am, then is what I am about to do in harmony with my deeper truth? What will I become if I act in this way?

  1. I am of the nature to grow old. I cannot escape old age.
  2. I am of the nature to have ill health. I cannot escape ill health.
  3. I am of the nature to die. I cannot escape dying.
  4. All that is dear to me and everyone I love are of the nature to change. There is no way to escape being separated from them. I cannot keep anything. I came here empty-handed, and I go empty-handed.
  5. My actions are my only true belongings. I cannot escape the consequences of my actions. My actions are the ground on which I stand.


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.