Awakening · Buddhism · Spirituality

Spiritual Glossary: Satori

Satori is the Japanese term used in Zen Buddhism to refer to awakening and the realisation of the true nature of the self, or Buddha nature. It is sometimes also called Kensho, where ken means ‘seeing’ and sho means ‘nature’ or ‘essence’. Kensho is generally understood to be your first experience of realisation and is often a tiny glimpse of Buddha… Continue reading Spiritual Glossary: Satori

Buddhism · Spirituality

Spiritual Glossary: Buddha Nature

Buddha nature is your true nature. This may be hard to believe at times, but even a tiny glimpse of reality during awakening will reveal the truth of it. Enlightenment reveals the true nature of all beings as Buddha nature. It’s also called Buddha-dhātu, which means ‘Buddha Element’ or ‘Buddha Principle.’ This is the seed… Continue reading Spiritual Glossary: Buddha Nature

Buddhism · Spirituality

Spiritual Glossary: Three Marks of Existence

The Marks of Existence are the characteristics shared by all beings and are the basic facts of life: anicca (impermanence) anatta (non-self) dukkha (suffering) Impermanence Everything that exists is impermanent. All things are in a constant state of change, even things which seem fairly solid and immovable, like a mountain. Entropy is a fact of… Continue reading Spiritual Glossary: Three Marks of Existence

Buddhism · Spirituality

Spiritual Glossary: Buddhist Precepts

In Buddhism, the precepts form a basic code of ethics or minimum standard of morality. There are various numbers of precepts, depending on the teaching, but the most common are the Five Precepts found in the Paramitas. They’re designed to help you achieve liberation from suffering and illusion – if you can stick to them!… Continue reading Spiritual Glossary: Buddhist Precepts